07 Nov Everything You Need to Know about Concealed Carry Laws in Ohio
Gun ownership is a much-discussed, often emotional, yet sometimes misunderstood topic. The state of Ohio allows concealed carry. Whether you wish to carry a gun or just want to better understand and take part in the conversation, review the facts about concealed carry laws in Ohio.
From a legal standpoint, owning a gun falls under the Second Amendment, commonly known as “the right to bear arms.” Some people choose to own a gun simply to exercise that right. Others feel they require protection from possible or future threats to safety or wish to feel more in control should something bad happen.
According to Crime Prevention Research Center’s 2018 report, concealed permits have increased by almost 275% between 2007-2017. Ohio has issued permits since 2004; as of 2018, Ohioans are 8.13% of the population that have the license.
Requirements for a Concealed Carry License
In order to apply for a Ohio concealed carry permit, you must meet the following requirements:
- be at least 21 years old
- have no past record of felonies, drug trafficking, or misdemeanors of violent assault, or currently facing charges of those crimes
- completed a minimum of six hours of firearm classroom training, and two hours of hands-on practice (retired military and police can use their credentials as proof of this requirement)
- not have a suspended permit from another state
- live or be employed within the state of Ohio
- not be under order of a restraining order in any state, on any authorities’ “wanted list,” under court ordered mental health treatment or a current patient of mental health care, or have been dishonorably discharged from military or police operations
An applicant can seek a permit from his or her local law enforcement office. The license will be issued within 45 days of application. Personnel to run a background check and scan the applicant’s fingerprints for entry into the registry. Permits come up for renewal every 5 years.
Understanding Concealed Carry Laws in Ohio
Do concealed carry laws in Ohio mean that you can bear a firearm anywhere you go? The following places do not allow concealed guns, unless explicitly stating otherwise (which some entities may do):
- Schools and daycare centers
- Psychiatric institutions
- Courthouses and federal buildings
- Religious centers and houses of worship
- Bars or other places where one can consume alcohol
It is implicitly that a permit holder will take the responsibilities seriously and adhere to all safety laws. For example, if you carry a gun, do not brandish it. for example, during an argument with neighbors, or without a legitimate need for self-defense. Always make sure that your gun is holstered and with you. Never place it away from your person, such as when using a public restroom.
Although concealed guns are permitted in a vehicle, Ohio is a “must notify” state. If stopped by police, you must immediately disclose possession, or risk a suspended permit or a first-degree misdemeanor charge. Also, familiarize yourself with Ohio’s reciprocity agreements, that allow for travel between states with a concealed firearm.
Always Ask Questions About Ohio’s Concealed Carry Laws
The “no such thing as a dumb question” adage aptly applies to concealed carry laws in Ohio. Whether you carry a gun or not, they are present in our community, so you may wish to educate yourself about what is or is not allowed.